YMB: Game of the Year: Nominations

Well, It is that time of year again.  That time of year where gamers feel obligated to look back and think; “What was the best game I played this year?”  Well that is easy.  Silent Hill 2 HD.  You can all go home now.   Wait, what?  … I am being told that it has to be from this year.  OK! FINE!

Watch Dogs

Was I a little underwhelmed?  A little.  But only a little.  The hype almost ruined it.  My expectations of what it could do were mainly in my head.  I cannot fault the game for that.  What the game does right is give me options.  Maybe the protagonist was a little limp but his actions reached further than driving and shooting a gun which I appreciated a lot.  In a game like Saints Row or GTA my options were basically: “What order do I shoot these guys?” or “Should I run them down with a car or a tank to weaken their defense before I figure out which order to shoot these guys?”.  However, in Watch Dogs I can make use of some pretty cool options.  Hack a camera or two to survey the situation and spot a guard on patrol who has a vestcam, hacking it, following his patrol, spotting an electrical panel to blow up, setting it off killing another guard, lure other guards to the surrounding area, switching to a camera inside the facility and blowing up all the guards who came to check the explosion by remotely detonating a grenade one of them is carrying.  FREAKIN’ AMAZING!  Game of the year contender.  Fight me.

South Park: Stick of Truth

This game is really like a full season of South Park.  It hits you with the familiar and the new all at once.  Mooing aliens, Nazi Zombies, Nazi babies, Nazi rats… . . I DID NAZI THAT COMING! … I’m sorry for that.  There’s a Khloe Kardashian abortion joke in the game.  Well, there are a few abortion jokes actually.  It’s dirty, it’s juvenile and it is absolutely vulgar.  It has sexism, it has racism and it is absolutely hilarious.  The graphics are remarkably identical to the show in every possible way.  It is 3D — but not.  People have called this visual perspective 2.5D.  The character classes range from the usual suspects like a fighter or a thief but also you can play as … A Jew.  I have no idea what that class has in store but I can tell you that on my next playthrough, that is going to be my jam.  A black Jew.  Not like Drake’s light skinned face, I’m talking straight-outta-Africa-but-I’m-pure-Israel-Shalom-mother-fucker type Jew.

Assassin’s Creed: Rogue

Snapshot_20141116_071303

Despite sharing quite a bit with Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, (A game I can easily leave at the bottom of the pile of my favorite Assassin’s Creed games) I enjoyed this one way more.  I don’t have much of a problem with Black Flag specifically.  I think it is a very well done game.  But if I could do it over (and Ubisoft definitely did in this case) I would reduce naval combat and increase the on foot bits of the game tenfold.  Everything you could do or would want to do in Assassin’s Creed IV still exists at some capacity but with more emphasis on assassinations than sailing.   Plus there are nifty interpretations on being a Templar in place such as chasing down pigeons carrying assassination requests for the Brotherhood.  Shay Cormac is also one of if not the best protagonist since Ezio.

Assassin’s Creed: Unity

Elise

This is Elise and she needs her own game!

I love me some Assassin’s Creed.  I play through most of the series every year and give it high scores.  I spread it on my toast and mix it in with my coffee and Unity is no different.  Despite many people having issues with it, other than it freezing once, I cannot share the sentiment that it is “broken”.   I celebrated the new freedom it gives you with the parkouring techniques and relished the fact that I no longer had to focus on upgrading a boat, building a homestead and micromanage several lists to send assassins out on excel spreadsheet quests.  I could finally do what I’ve wanted to do since Revelations and concentrate on being a friggin’ assassin.  Not all these changes are welcome from the fans, which I can appreciate but all in all, I still feel like Unity is a fine wine which only the elites can appreciate because it is Assassin’s Creed distilled down to the basics.  I simply had fun playing it and that is all I can say.

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel

Snapshot_20141023_091111

Had I played Farcry 4, that would probably be the game I’d submit here, but I didn’t so it is BPS.  I describe this game as “The Perfect Borderlands” experience.  Which is tragic because it arrived so late in the previous console cycle that I’m not sure people even picked it up.  This is the only Borderlands game I could see myself replaying over and over and over because there would still be more things to achieve after the credits roll.  Previous games felt like the ended after the credits.  I’d either be at the level cap with awesome guns and maxed out everything the special currency allows me to buy or have some sort of penultimate character missing an exotic piece.  I didn’t feel compelled to buy the DLC because I was complete.  BPS switches up the formula just enough to keep me coming back.  The map doesn’t seem quite as big at first until you start exploring the insides of areas on the moon’s surface.  On top of it, the series signature humor remains intact with Australian accents out cha ass. It was a very fun romp indeed.

This list could change, though it probably will not.  I gotta go hit the voting booth to figure out which one I like more.  PEACE!

The Jaded Gamer (Twitter: @IamFN2K)
Facebook: The Jaded Gamer

Leave a Reply

