Exhibit A: Next-Gen Delayed until 2015

The way I see it, the current generation of consoles has two problems.

  • Delayed games
  • Recycled games

Console makers were so keen on beating each other to market that they jumped the gun.  The games needed more time in the oven. During this time most games current gen owners are treated to are games available on previous generations or “remastered” editions of previous fan favorites.

Everybody had high expectations for Watch Dogs to kickstart the new generation of consoles, but when it served to be nothing more than another competent open world game, offering more fun than innovation, gamers were left looking to other games that would fill the void.  Sure, there isn’t exactly a drought going on but it has been a year, where are the games?

Delayed.

Batman: Arkham Knight

I never played Arkham Origins but I did play through the first two and enjoyed them a lot. I think the two games stand on their own just fine.  I was not in the mood for a third game but a current gen Batman game would give me a reason to give the series a second look.  I wish I could have been playing this but it has been pushed to 2015.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

I played a little of the first game and am currently playing through the second.  I would be done the second but since this was pushed to February 2015, I’m not in a rush anymore.  I’ve almost lost interest.  I should probably start over.

Dying Light

I wish I was playing this game right now. Recently the developer announced it was cancelling last gen versions of the game to ensure the experience would be the same on all systems. I guess that means, the game was choking on 360/PS3 tech and they didn’t want to brick the game.  Doesn’t matter.  See ya in 2015.

The Division

To be honest, I wouldn’t be surprised if this one gets cancelled entirely.  It is very very ambitious… which is why I was hoping to play it this year.  Tough titty! 2015 in dat booty.

Mad Max

I forgot the set-up but the punchline is 2015.

Battlefield: Hardline

hardline

What boy doesn’t remember playing Cops and Robbers?  Reliving your boyhood dream; delayed until 2015.

Quantum Break

She saw Quantum Break’s release date. Even though the date was never official, 2014 would have been ideal.  Nope, 2015.

I think the money for the cost of these systems would have been better spent on games I think.  But maybe that’s just me.

Cheers.

The Jaded Gamer (IamFN2K@gmail.com)
(@IamFN2K)

Leave a Reply

