Who doesn’t want more Assassin’s Creed?

OK, So. Ubisoft puts out an Assassin’s Creed pirates game and I don’t mean Assassin’s Creed IV.  They drop an Assassin’s Creed card game on us. They tell us that two different Assassin’s Creed games on two generations of consoles is coming out in 2014.  Still not enough! Recently, it was announced that Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China would be thrown in when you buy the season’s pass.

ACC:China is a 2D side scroller that actually looks and sounds interesting which is why I’m able to let it slide even though it sits on top of a mountain of other Assassin’s Creed products.  Have a look at some of the screens below.

blog.ubi.com

It does seem like a nifty addition to the series.  It stars fan favorite Shao Jun who was trained by another fan favorite, Ezio Auditore.  This is still pretty interesting.  Although I have zero intentions of buying the season pass to obtain this, I salute those who want it.

BUT ANOTHER FRIGGEN ASSASSIN’S CREED GAME HAS BEEN SPOTTED IN THE WILD! UGH!

TouchGameplay has a video on their channel outlining some of the gameplay.  Here’s Assassin’s Creed Identity, due in 2015.

It will be a mobile game with microtransactions.  I can’t get mad at the way this game attempts to win my heart. Microtransactions are here to stay and are a way to “pay what you want” to play the game.  However, most of the time “pay what you want” translates to “pay to win.”  Naturally it is way way too early to fault Ubisoft or the Assassin’s Creed franchise for using microtransactions so I will just have to wait and see how they are utilized.   Although it is already being suggested that paying real money will speed up timers and allow access to special items.  But whatever, if you don’t like it, you don’t HAVE to buy it.  I probably will not.

It sounds really interesting.

An Assassin’s Creed game on my phone is exactly what the doctor ordered.  Even though there are two other mobile Assassin’s Creed games for my device, this is the one I’ve wanted.

But… After Assassin’s Creed Unity and Assassin’s Creed Rogue, I will be FULL! Every single year I swear I will never buy another Assassin’s Creed game because I’ve played through six of them on top of the portable games and will drill through another two this year. I. AM. FULL!   Let us not forget that Ubisoft will probably hint at Assassin’s Creed 5 or AC:_Subtitle_Goes_Here around January 15th 2015.  I AM SO FULL YOU GUYS!  In a short amount of time I’m going to be drowning in DLC for the upcoming Assassin’s Creed games.  I haven’t even finished the 3rd DLC for Assassin’s Creed 3 or started on the DLC for Assassin’s Creed 4.  Part of that reason is because other games exist.

Another reason I am full is simply because it is painfully obvious that Ubisoft intends to stretch out the Assassin’s Creed franchise for as long as possible.  Due to that, the story I’m interested in is being stretched thinner and thinner.  The revelations made in each game are presumably going to be drawn out longer over time.  I just want to know what Juno is up to and Assassin’s Creed IV barely touched on the subject.  The story they want to tell is just going to take longer because the franchise is so successful.

I don’t have a problem with annualizing a title or a franchise, but I AM FULL.  I can’t take another piece of Assassin’s Creed media that is interactive.  If you try to feed me a choose-your-own-adventure book starring Altair I will burst.

Please Ubisoft, you don’t have to take a year off. . . JUST SLOW DOWN! . . . But don’t stop making great products.

The Jaded Gamer
@IamFN2K

Leave a Reply

