Connecting the dots with The Jaded Gamer

Everybody I know, knows I love Survival Horror games.  Everybody I know, knows that despite me believing Fatal Frame was (and still is) the scariest FRANCHISE, Silent Hill is still my #1 favorite survival horror title.  Here are my top 6

1. Silent Hill 2
2. Fatal Frame
3. Fatal Frame 2
4. Silent Hill 3
5. Silent Hill
6. Fatal Frame 3

I no doubt catch flak from people because Resident Evil and Dead Space are constantly left out when I riff off my favorite scary games. The reason for that is simply that I don’t sleep with a night light or feel the need to check under my bed for monsters anymore.  I’m talking about games that would scare somebody who isn’t a chickenshit or a child. I continue….

So. A few weeks have passed since Kojima and Guillermo Del Toro announced their intention to collab on a new Silent Hill game.  I briefly mentioned a certain Facebook Silent Hill Fanpage that started a petition to “resurrect” Silent Hill because they weren’t satisfied with most of the recent entries into the franchise. They even cited the Vita game as being too far from the status quo… which was exactly the point the game was going for.  4 player isometric co-op.  Only the stupidest or most ignorant gamer bought that game thinking it was a traditional Silent Hill game. Same people decided they don’t need to look at the back of the box I guess. Anyways.  10 days after this petition it was announced that Kojima and Del Toro are forming voltron to bring us the Silent Hill game we want and deserve.  After the announcement, the Fanpage, instead of realizing the petition was in reality not just a waste of time but very presumptuous and rude to begin with, they proceeded to declare victory and promptly fling themselves back on Konami’s nutsack like crack whores itching for that next rock.

The petition was stupid and useless.  Fans or at the very least, the admin (being a “fan” of the series and all) should have been able to figure out what was going on a while ago. Hell, in the last few months the evidence was right in front of every fan.  All you had to do was be patient.  Let me connect them dots.

Before I begin, I’m not promoting any of these sources. I just googled the story I was looking for and took the first set of results.  I may not have read THAT specific article, but I read something close.

Sept. 02, 2012 – Polygon reports that Kojima teased the idea of Silent Hill being brought to his Fox engine.

“He teased the possibility of another Konami property, Silent Hill, taking advantage of the engine, but until Saturday, the content of Kojima’s game was unknown.” – Polygon

Sept. 27, 2012 – Polygon reports Konami wants Kojima to do Silent Hill.

“In the past I’ve mentioned Silent Hill in interviews, and as a result of that the president of Konami rung me up and said he’d like me to make the next Silent Hill,” Kojima said at the Eurogamer Expo. -Polygon reports

Now, between then and up until a few weeks ago, it was clear Kojima was focused on Metal Gear Solid 5 and getting that together.  During this time, obviously Silent Hill fans were becoming impatient. Despite Kojima still mentioning it briefly in subsequent interviews. Regardless, gamers are not patient. Ever since they wished a new ending to Mass Effect 3 into existence, they think developers exist to satisfy every craving we as gamers have.  So even though Kojima never took the project off the table officially, gamers disregarded the length of time it takes to make a game and just assumed it wasn’t happening.  BUT THEN THIS HAPPENED!

June 27th, 2014 – VG 24/7 (and a whole lot of other sites) reports Hollywood loves Kojima’s trailer for MGS5.

“…the likes of Guillermo del Toro, Nicolas Winding Refn, Avi Arad and Shinya Tsukamoto are engaging in a circle jerk the likes of which we haven’t seen since high school.”

Hollywood was seriously on his bean bag for a minute.  But two names stuck out to me.  Avi Arad and Guillermo Del Toro.   Avi Arad is a producer and Del Toro is a (horror movie) director.  Although at the time I didn’t connect Del Toro to Silent Hill, but the hamster wheel was turning.  I couldn’t understand the immense love for Kojima pouring out all at once.  All these Hollywood types had quotes ready for press time.  I knew something had to be going on. I didn’t think too deeply into it but I maintained that a new Silent Hill was on the way and Kojima was going to spring it on us closer to the release of Metal Gear Solid 5.  But then .. BAM!

August 12th, 2014 – Kojima and Del Toro blow your mind clear out your skulls.

And now, Silent Hill is back to being the scariest game because of an enigmatic playable teaser. . . which was honestly a fraction of scary that is the realm of Fatal Frame.  And save your “I wasn’t as scared during Fatal Frame as I was during P.T.”  To which I say.. “See how scary Fatal Frame was that you had to completely block it out of your memory so you could live a normal life.”

I have every hope Silent Hills snatches that survival horror crown back from Fatal Frame, but I’ll believe it when I see it. And a lot of you SH fans should feel the same way because if this one sucks and you don’t boycott the series after this, I have no sympathy for your wallet after this.

The Jaded Gamer.
@IamFN2K

Leave a Reply

